GF (SF, NF) Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins

Although many people can’t wait to get out there and go shopping just after Thanksgiving, I find it much more enjoyable to stick around the house. I tend to read, watch a movie, work a bit, and of course-bake something. Now that Daughter is soy free, nut free, and GF, cooking and baking just got a bit more complicated, but I love a challenge.

I found a wonderful recipe by Gluten Free in Orlando for GF Mexican Chocolate Banana Muffins and I was inspired. I lived in Gainesville, FL for a few years and love Central Florida. It’s beautiful and the weather is quite lovely most of the year. I’m homesick when I read her blogs, and I get hungry since she has a lot of great ideas and recipes. Today, there were two bananas on the counter dying a slow death and waiting to be used.

But…you know how you want to make something and then you get in the kitchen and you don’t have everything you need to make that thing and you have to decide should I improvise, go to the store, or just forget it? Here I was in the kitchen pondering just that. Of course, improvise is the obvious choice. It’s an adventure, right?

Orlando’s recipe calls for Gluten Free Pantry’s All Purpose Flour mix. I only had Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Biscuit and Baking Mix. Orlando’s recipe calls for Tazo Mexican chocolate, I have only Enjoy Life Mini Chocolate Chips. Orlando specifies four bananas mashed in her recipe, I have two. Still doable? You bet!

There’s nothing wrong with giving something a try, right? We won’t talk about the GF stuffing that pretty much bombed on Thanksgiving and will definitely not be making a repeat appearance. But the point is, don’t be afraid to experiment. These muffins came out amazing. They are a bit more substantial than a cupcake, which is what I like in a muffin. They are chewy, dense, full of flavor and I will definitely be making them again. Judging by the fact that Daughter has eaten 6 mini muffins already, and they are still warm, I’d say they were a success.

So, here is the recipe I used, which is just a bit different than Orlando’s. Go to her recipe and give hers a try, I imagine they are a bit lighter and have a bit more banana flavor. I’ll definitely try her recipe when I’ve got a few more bananas and Bob’s All Purpose Flour on hand.

photo 3

GF Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins

1 1/2 C Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Biscuit and Baking Mix
2/3 C sugar (I use organic cane sugar)
1  tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp kosher salt
1 tsp cinnamon
8 T (1 stick) unsalted butter — melted
1 large egg
1/4 C half and half (Orlando called for milk, but all I had was half and half. Use milk if you have it)
1 C mashed bananas — about 2 large bananas
2 TBS fresh orange juice (Juice of one small orange)
1 tsp GF vanilla extract
3/4 cup Enjoy Life Mini Chocolate Chips
Directions
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Spray mini muffin pans with cooking spray.
2. Melt the butter in a bowl in the microwave and set aside to cool.
3. Whisk together baking mix, sugar, baking powder, baking soda,  salt, and cinnamon in a separate bowl.
4. In another bowl, beat the egg, milk, mashed bananas, orange juice, vanilla, and butter.
5. Add banana mixture to the flour mixture.  Do not over mix.  Stir in the chips.
6. Fill muffin pans. (I used mini muffins, just like Orlando did, but you can make these bigger if you want. Just up the baking time and watch them.)
7.  Bake for 15 minutes. Keep a watch since they will brown pretty quickly.
Makes about 30 mini muffins. I added a bit of water to two of the empty muffin spots to keep the muffins moist while cooking. I baked mine for 15 minutes and they were quite done.
Enjoy!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “GF (SF, NF) Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins

  1. Alexis S.

    So glad you enjoyed them! They are a favorite in my house, and with my neighbors and family.

Leave a comment